Notebook

Sitting on the window sill,

as I scribble in my notebook –

life makes me want to run away;

but, in my head,

there are dreams to be read.

Souls to be set free,

to that place called…..eternity.

I close my eyes,

rest my head in my hand,

and I can see it.

The cacophonous sounds are different.

And the world?

I resist it.

But when I open my eyes,

the voices, the danger, the lies…..

rush in at me.

A wave; and,

once again, I am the world’s slave.

I am back in the status quo;

and my heart, well it beats slow.

With notebook in my hand,

I walk away;

because that is all I can withstand.

Leave a Reply

